Tom Hanks’ LARRY CROWNE

 

LARRY CROWNE – What happens when you put two movie icons in a rom-com?! I’d say, it’ll be a big flop. We expect them to appear in massive cinematic epics and not on what would you normally classify as a ‘Jennifer Aniston’ film. Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, two of Hollywood’s biggest names joined forces once again in a light comedy-drama picture, Larry Crowne. Notable for their remarkable performances in Forrest Gump, Green Mile, Saving Private Ryan (for Hanks) and Erin Brokovich, Pretty Woman and My Best Friend’s Wedding (for Roberts), I can’t help but question why they’ve said ‘yes’ to top-bill this movie – as I’ve said, a rom-com but having seen the entire piece, it was’t that bad at all.

 

The story is very light – not an Oscar material or something you’d expect from these actors. I think the movie’s main aim was to showcase the other side of these Hollywood stars just like what ‘It’s Complicated’ did to Meryl Streep. Since this is a rom-com, my expectations of their performances weren’t too high. Although having said that, Tom and Julia were still incredible and acted as if it was for real. I’m not sure if it was because the story was too light for them or because they’re so good, they’ve given a straightforward (boring) storyline some spice and brought it to life. The role perfectly suits Julia and I can’t think of any other actress to play that strict and yet likeable college professor. The same goes for Tom Hanks although personally, I think it would have worked better if George Clooney played that character – George’s cheeky side would have given Larry Crowne’s character a much more depth and justice – though Hanks portrayal was a success in a way. I’ll rather pass on criticizing the film’s technical and production value as there’s really nothing to comment on. It’s what you expect from these type of pictures. Not that I am underestimating the quality of rom-coms but we have to be realistic here that such movies focus on  exhibiting the actors’ screen charisma/commercial viability rather than their talent or the story itself.

 

Watch this if you want some cosy evening with your partner. It is a feel-good film but don’t be fooled by the gravity of stars leading the cast. Will I watch it again? Ermmm, maybe.

 

6/10

Leave a comment